Birthdays, September 11th and Meltaguns

Mighty Meltas merrily murder morons.

Mighty Meltas merrily murder morons... MEOW!

Last week, I found out that my favorite bartender’s birthday falls on September 11th. Ouch.

I absolutely feel for the families and victims of the September 11th attack and I have not forgotten. My heart goes out to them. At the same time, having your birthday fall on the same day would absolutely suck. So my buddy Fernando and I got her a card and a little gift and went to happy hour.

She showed up grumpy from the rain we’ve been hammered with the last week, among other things. Fernando and I played it cool, ordered a beer and some food and then whoops! Card dropped out.

She was ecstatic. And rubbed glitter from the card all over her shirt. Not sure what to say to that, but she liked it so that’s good.

So if you have a casual acquaintance whose birthday falls on or even around September 11th, do something nice for them. You’ll be doing the world a favor. Personally, I’m not going to forget September 11th. But I’m not going to let it ruin someone’s special day either.

Retiring from the bar last night, I went home and finished the Space Marine single player campaign. I won’t give away details, but that last ‘boss fight’ was a little disappointing. On the bright side, I found my favorite new gun in the multiplayer. In the first game with it, I took eleven scalps with the Meltagun against 7 deaths. I learned quickly that the Melta seriously hurts but rarely kills in one shot. So if you try it, be prepared to finish them off with the knife. I even put together a new configuration involving combat stimulants and a serrated combat knife perk for that purpose. Just stay away from open battlefields, use alleys and places with lots of corners. Approach using cover to hide and protect yourself. Blast and then make them deep throat 12 inches… of knife.

P.S. If you don’t get the reference in the picture caption, shame on you:

I love that movie. Anyway, I’m going to a wedding this weekend so this is probably the only post you’ll get until Monday. I’m going to work on my Xaphan submission before I jet. Happy weekend, readers.

Leave a Reply

