Gears of War Day

I'll get my chance to play. Some day.

I'll get my chance to play. Some day.

So it’s confession time on GOW3-day. I’ve never played any of the Gears of War series. I’ve always wanted too, but never have.

There are a few reasons for this. First, I’m a PC gamer. I just don’t have the money to shell out for an XBox 360 when the majority of games I want come to PC. Yeah, Microsoft had a few titles I wanted to try, but the PC had more. That, and I use my PC for work as well as play.

This is a half excuse however, because the original Gears of War came to PC, eventually. But GOW2 didn’t and GOW3 probably won’t either.

The second reason I’ve held back is because Gears of War has always struck me as a series that was going to end. It’s the story of one major conflict. Conflicts always come to some conclusion. They did in the original three Star Wars movies. And when they end, I’m left hungering for more. It’s rough to hook a fan on fast paced combat and co-operative play and then tell them that the good times are over.

But what about the Halo series? I hear you. Yes, it’s being continued. And I loved the first Halo. The second one lost me when they made it shorter and the weapons more generic and less interesting. The developers felt like they tried too hard revamping the graphic engine instead of focusing on level designs and gameplay. The first Halo was something special and unique at the time. Then they tried too hard to commercialize it and to make it generic, with too much focus on the multiplayer. It stop being an awe inspiring piece of sci fi themed game play and instead became the thrill of frat boys and their frag parties.

I regarded Gears of War from a distance. I read the Wikipedia entries and watched videos. It seemed different. It did not seem to betray its core integrity. It seemed to have some story to tell that it never lost focus of. From the outside, I noticed that details changed but the central concepts didn’t. It seems as good a time as any to jump in. I’ll go hunting for the PC version of the original game and see if I can’t catch up before long.

Like a book everyone but me has read.

Leave a Reply

