Costumes

POW! WHAM! BIFF! Biff?

POW! WHAM! BIFF! Biff?

So Halloween this year could seriously be a four day event. It falls on a Monday, and since Halloween is so popular, people will be celebrated it as early as Friday. Maybe even at Thursday’s happy hours.

Because of this, it would be a shame to make a single costume that I wear for three or four nights. So, I’m going to put together at least two costumes, possibly three.

I’ve taken to brain storming which costumes I’ll go as. I’m thinking one super hero and one funny, and the third as part of the group.

The superhero is going to be either Batman or Captain America. Either way, it’s going to take time to assemble. I can probably pull it off for less than $20 to $30.

How? First, I already have black combat boots which can work for either costume, although they may need some tweeking for Captain America. For Batman’s armor, I can cut shapes using cardboard, wrap them in duct tape which not only keeps them in place but also imparts a “roughness” to them. Then spray paint them in black.

Using this method, doing the arms and chest and shoulders will be easy. Doing the pants will be a challenge, but I’ll figure something out. A black sheet will take care of the cape, and finding a cheap belt to spray paint in gold will handle the utility belt.

Only problem is the face. The ears, no problem. If I really want to go crazy with this, I can probably make a mask out of paiper-mâché. It maybe best to do a combination, using cardboard to handle the ears and the straight portion of the nose, and then paiper-mâché to handle the curves of the face.

If it looks good I’ll write a how-to guide so people who like to put effort into their costumes. It’s going to be a great year. I think for my funny costume, I’ll be going as the Bitch Hunter. Mom would be so proud, and Will Ferrell is probably going to sue me.

Leave a Reply

