Eternal Scholar

Work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger...

Work it harder, make it better, do it faster, makes us stronger...

One of the things I’ve come to accept is that as a writer, you’re basically a scholar of everything.

Biology, economics, philosophy, ecology. Survival and technical skills, medical knowledge, the list just goes on. What’s different from most professions is the variety. In my other job, I focus mostly on programming and technical skills while working with financial contracts. I specialize instead of generalizing.

But when I write, I find it useful to be a jack of all trades. Some knowledge on tracking here, a little first aid know how there. A little knowledge of everything goes a long way. And Google has become my best friend in this.

If I need to remind myself of the term for that particular muscle or bone, I check out a diagram. If I can’t recall the architectural word, I look for it. Writing is all about keeping the mind sharp.

The brain must grow. Or die.

Anyway, I’m at 7185 words in the past 7 days, putting me a little better than a thousand words in a day. I’m looking to wrap up at least one submission this week, but I’m hoping for two. I’ve noticed that there are long, long waiting periods between submission and hearing back from a publishing company. So it seems I have to keep something brewing at all times. Put together the submission, fire it away and get started on something else. Stay busy at all times.

By the way, have you checked out the Left 5 Dead comic at HALOLZ? That is why I can never, ever go back to Resident Evil. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

