Anxiety and a New Writing Competition

Unlike its scarlet counter part, the white letter A represents the shame of alcoholism. As in, drunk enough to wear those tights.

Unlike its scarlet counter part, the white letter A represents the shame of alcoholism. As in, drunk enough to wear those tights.

With every day, I begin to realize that the rapid rejection letter that Clarkesworld sent to me was, by far, the most merciful thing a publisher can do.

The waiting is getting to me. I have submitted now eight stories (a combination of shorts and flash) to various publishers. I deal with it by simply writing more, talking with the gents over at the Bolthole’s Shoutbox, or reading The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. When I finish that, I will be writing a book review of it. No, it’s not Warhammer related, but there’s more to me than slobbering over products by the Black Library.

Moving along, I am probably going to host another writing competition for the holiday season. Figuring a proper theme for it will be interesting as not everyone celebrates Christmas (I have a few international readers who celebrate other things). I’ll probably go for a very open but seasonal theme, as in anything winter related, Christmas or any other major holidays, Emperor’s Day (A 40k term for Christmas), or just New Years.

Also, I’ll probably host dual prizes. At first, I considered  it being a basic novel from the Black Library for the winner, while the second place would receive a copy of Hammer & Bolter. But I realized that if I want to include non-Warhammer fans, the prizes have to be more diverse. Therefore, this will probably be the last contest involving strictly Black Library prizes.

Had a short break before publishing this and came back with the perfect idea for the writing competition. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

