A Fresh Start

Not pictured: What happens to Santa when the elves had a little Coca Cola.

Not pictured: What happens to Santa when the elves had a little too much Coca Cola.

So the combination of work, shopping for Christmas, writing stories and tackling projects at home has depleted my time for games and blogging. Tis the season, you see.

There’s so much I’ve wanted to do and I hadn’t realized it until now. Now being more than just Christmas 2011 or the coming start of a new year. In a way, it’s an important year. It’s the final year of my 20s. My birthday occurred late November and the time slipped away around Thanksgiving and I haven’t really gotten it back yet.

But that’s going to change soon. Christmas is a mere five days away, and after New Years there will be a big blank calender that I want to fill. So I’ve started a draft of my “Goodbye 20s” list.

Maybe I didn’t do everything I wanted to do before I turned thirty, but I’m going to try hard to get it now before it’s too late.

It can be frustrating though. I’ve done lists like this before and I saw incredible accomplishments and improvements. But there’s always more I wanted to do. Always more I wanted to add or improve upon. Part of my frustration ties into much larger goals that cannot be accomplished in a single year, or it hasn’t been the best years to do it.

I shouldn’t beat myself up for these failures. But I should act on them because it really is now or never. I don’t know what’s around the corner. I don’t know if I’ll be here near D.C. I don’t know if I’ll be employed. But the one thing I do know is that I won’t be young forever. So I’ve got to live it up.

This is my last blog until after Christmas. So happy holidays and Merry Christmas folks.

Leave a Reply

