100 Horrors

Ahhh, reminds me of watching Nickelodeon as a kid...

Ahhh, reminds me of watching Nickelodeon as a kid...

Jumping on the same wagon as Raziel4707 and Tyrant have before me, I too am being published. My flash fiction will appear alongside theirs in 100 Horrors, edited by Kevin G. Bufton. The release date is set for February 20th of this year.

Bufton has been a joy to work with. He has kept us writers up to date about every change or piece of news that comes through, as tedious as it might be to coordinate between 100 individual authors and one terrific cover artist. What started as an e-book became more when he told us our work would be in print as well. That was welcomed news to me, as I’ve always wanted to see my name in print before all fiction is moved onto Kindles, Nooks and e-readers.

But for me personally and for the writers at the Bolthole, it’s red letter day. 5% of the stories being published are from Bolthole writers, the other two being Lord Lucan and Mister Ed. Both of whom I will be bugging to write blog posts about this event.

Now, although I’ve been notified that I’m being published for a few months now, I’ve only decided to mention it openly now. Why? Because I’m mentally prepared for bad news at all times. Maybe the anthology doesn’t get published. Maybe things didn’t work out, or a crucial contract didn’t get signed in time. Promising ventures can and do fall apart easily.

Since writers get rejected all the time, the last thing I wanted to do was discuss the bitter taste of false hope. So close and yet so far. But I believe we’re passed that fear now. No, now we have something else to fear. Not just a fear, but terror. 100 terrors of 100 words by 100 authors.

Look for 100 Horrors on February 20th, folks. And take it easy, as one’s heart can only take so much.

Leave a Reply

