Long Day, Longer Night

I want to tell you that I spent my day writing and trying to finish up my final story for my anthology. But that would be a lie.

No, today I had an interview that both the company representative and I thought would take only 30 minutes. In reality? It took 2 hours plus change, plus… still, kind of going on. I’ll explain in a minute.

My resume wowed them enough that he introduce me to two other faces who work among three separate bureaucratic divisions within this company. After two hours of being grilled and repeating myself, I was subjected to a technical assessment test for Visual Basic.Net, despite the fact that they wanted me for a Java position.

I took the test and did as best I could without references, scoring about 50%. They sent me home with a packet of information to review and gave me access to an online site for studying Java. I then took two Java tests, one for entry level and another for J2SE, as well as letting me retake the VB.Net test.

On the retake, I pulled off a nice 83%. As for the two Java tests, I scored 50% and 52%. The test results even have the “global average” which is interesting because I can compare my results to every other programmer (or wanna-be programmer) who attempted it.

Apparently, if you do average they’ll let you retake the test. So I agreed to do so. Which means that, tonight, I’ll be studying Java out of my ears, eyes and any other orifice known for leaking code.

The things that really trip me up are the terms and conditions of various methods and classes. These are not simple. It’s a lot of information to keep handy mentally.

In truth, I don’t have to take this assessment test. But if I don’t, I’m just delaying the inevitable. If this is what I want to do, then I would be challenged anywhere else I went. I would be tested regardless. So tonight, I’m going to play my game for perhaps an hour, go get stuff to make dinner. Work out, write for an hour. And then load up on coffee and study all night long.

C’est la vie.

Leave a Reply

