Need to Read

Faithless readers, I need your help with book selections.

In little more than a week, I’ll be on a plane to London. I’ve got some planning to finish up on, some travel and lodging arrangements to make that I’ll take care of tonight. But of more interest, the flight will be a good 12 or so hours of reading time, one way. That’s time enough to finish off an entire book or two.

At the moment, I’m four chapters away from completing The Return of the King. A friend of mine was quite surprised that this was the first time I ever had read it and not the dozenth. I have the Black Library’s Fear to Tread to read, but chances are I’ll take a chunk out of that before I ever board the plane. I would prefer to finish it before I leave for that reason, if only to have a fresh book on take off.

I still have Mockingjay and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, but my copy of Mockingjay is hardback and would not pack as easily as the latter choice. So I could use a hand in deciding what to read before take off.

So my fellow book cultists, I am open to ideas, suggestions, innuendo and insinuations as to further reading to cultivate my dark and evil mind. It is preferable that the books be of the Black Library persuasion, but any classic literature or modern (and good) pop culture hits will be fine as well.

One response to “Need to Read

  1. Have you read any books by Joe Abercrombie? He is one of my favourites “new” authors. Few years ago, after finishing A Feast for Crows by R.R. Martin, I couldn’t find anything to satisfy my hunger for more gritty fantasy; until I came across with The First Law Trilogy.

    The first three books are:
    The Blade Itself
    Before They Are Hanged
    Last Argument of Kings

    Stand alone books – but I strongly recommend to read them in order as they explore few characters from previous books:
    Best Served Cold
    The Heroes
    Red Country (which I’m currently reading)

Leave a Reply

