More to Come

Yesterday night, I finished my final short story of the year for The Black Wind’s Whispers although the page count really stretched the definition of “short.”

The length is bothersome, but it was critical to make a sharp story to explain the origin of the driving plot device. My first draft was summarily rejected. So I struggled to improve the power of the story. This took legitimate research and expounding on details, and the end result hogged word length more than I intended. Perhaps there will be cuts.

Based on certain definitions, the tale is somewhere between a short story and novella. I am debating either reducing its length or cutting it into two parts and separating them somewhere within the anth. I know a good spot within the story to do just that. I will discuss our strategy with the editors soon.

I will be fighting hard to get the book published probably late next week. In the mean time, I got to push the contract out tonight (no more delays on that).

With five (perhaps six) stories under my belt, I think I’ll finish the year by shooting a few more rejections at Every Day Fiction (and learning patience from their critiques). Research a few publishers and see what’s cooking. Then fail to complete a novel for NaNoWriMo, and by fail I mean probably not even start.

I leave for London tomorrow. I may or may not post once more before then. Expect a few BLW pictures when I return.

Leave a Reply

