What’s Kickin’

If I tickled her cheek, do you think she'd pour the coffee on her face?

If I tickled her cheek, do you think she’d pour the coffee on her face?

The Bolthole Writers’ Fair is still ongoing. I’ve spent more time writing for submissions, searching for publishers and pushing out emails to keep people motivated.

This is the ‘rut’ phase of the fair. I think the first weekend is always the hardest to get through. Maybe you spent the first work week actually getting into the habit. Then the weekend comes and anything related to work, which includes writing.

Even I screwed up and forgot to send an email yesterday. I quickly sent one today and created a draft of one for tomorrow. But I still have 22 more days to push the guys to keep writing.

I got back the first wave of interview questions from two publishers. I have to review them and fire back more specialized questions to keep the conversation flowing and get a little more juice out of them before I write the articles. I intend to write the articles with a few journalistic practices: photos of the people, a few key phrases picked out and make big so people get curious enough to read.

Well, progress is progress. A lot of my points with the BWF have been guidelines. Guys were encouraged to write short stories and flash fiction. Some, perhaps half, have decided to focus more on their novels. As long as they’re writing, I’m pleased.

I’ll close with the speech I gave on the first day of the BWF. I rather liked it…

The best speeches are short and sweet, and stay focused on what’s important. With that in mind… what do you write for?

Friends? Family? Gratification from strangers? C’mon, at this point there is only one person you’re writing and you know who that person is. Not enough strangers read your work. Your friends are busy writing as well. And there’s no way your writing earns you enough to support your family. At least not yet.

In the words of Jules Renard, “Writing is the only profession where no one considers you ridiculous if you earn no money.”

Between now and success, there is a time where writing is about you. When it’s about the conversation your mind has with a blank page. That moment where you spin yarns and create worlds, there’s a tiny act of godhood in every sentence.

There’s no shame in writing for yourself. Because it’s the world that should be fortunate enough to read your work.

Leave a Reply

