New Years Resolution

If you’re reading this, it means I’ve completed my goal of writing 10 short stories before the year is up. Almost all of these stories went towards publications with token payments, anywhere from $5 to $25 a story. At least one went to a pro-rated publisher, willing to pay the industry average of $.05 a word.

Here is my new regime for writing. Nothing is lofty or dependent on anything specific, which increases my odds of pulling these off.

1) Submit two short stories a month.

This is a decent goal. At my going rate, I’m pumping out almost four stories a month. It has cost me a few nights of sleep and most of my spare time, but it has gotten me in the right mind frame to keep going and developing my skills.

2) Get a pro-rated story published.

A story worth $.05 a word. Anytime next year. To maximize my chances, I should aim to make one of my two submitted stories go towards professional paying publishers, even if it means I’ll be published less often.

3) Read three how-to-write/get-published books.

Most of my reading has been more fictional. Devising how to write in a manner akin to what editors want. But there’s behind the business scene that I only partially get. And I need to make a stronger effort to shore up my weaknesses and strive to present my work more effectively to editors.

4) Lay the ground work for my novels.

I don’t expect to get a novel finished next year. I’d be worried about the quality if I did. Instead, I’d like to jot down the chapter-by-chapter synopses of several novels. Maybe I’ll start one after I finish laying them out, but I really do want to keep going with short stories until I hit a three year mark and the resulting body of work.

Have a happy new years everyone!

Leave a Reply

