Unexpected Complexity

On sale now!

On sale now!

First thing’s first. My newest story is available at Fox Spirit Books, in their 3rd pocket volume Guardians. You should buy a copy and find out who tomorrow’s hottest authors will be.

Also, to you horror lovers. Cruentus Libri Press has extended their closing a week and the ebooks are now completely free. You should probably just get a copy.

I’m knee deep in my first novel’s synopsis. And I have to admit, every time I look at it I find some new plot hole that needs filling. Some undiscovered problem. Part of me really wants to keep the plot moving, which I feel is a great author’s trait to have. So I’m working hard to ensure that although the heroes do eventually slow down and rest, something critical or important happens during or at the end of every chapter.

My biggest concern is avoiding “patch” fixes to plot holes. I would rather go back and correct the problem via planning and foresight than a shoddy explanation.

As far as novels go, there’s a lot of moving parts here. Numerous characters, each with their own desires and history. A lot of background to cover. I have nine parts of the synopsis finished (out of probably 23) and I wrote a chapter and a half. The original first chapter was cut out. It was slow and didn’t add much that I couldn’t fit in later. This thing is rapidly becoming massive. I’ve only just revealed one of three major villains. And I’ve still not yet gotten all my protagonists on the same page, although they are starting to come together.

The biggest problems kept coming from a turncoat character. His reasoning was frequently terrible. His actions didn’t jive as well as I hoped. Hopefully an extensive rewrite works out better…

Leave a Reply

