March Reading List

No pictures for you today!

I’m still not finished with A Dance with Dragons… I’m somewhere around page 400 though. My greatest complaint about A Song of Ice and Fire is the sheer length of the individual novels tends to eat into time spent finishing other books. At roughly 1,000 pages a novel, one could polish off three novels in the time it takes to finish just one.

As such, I’m supplementing my reading list with a few mythological books of much shorter length, usually 100 to 200 pages.

Thus Spake Zarathustra – A kind of “must read” for me. I got passed the first part and had to put it down for a while. I’ll wrap it up shortly.

The Whitechapel Demon – 2014 is really shaping up to be the year of indie games. Don’t Starve, The Banner Saga and both Shadowrun Returns and its DLC Dragonfall have wowed me. As such, I’ve decided to expand my efforts to consume more indie and small press books too. That, and it’s hard to go wrong with Josh Reynolds.

Betrayer – I have badly, badly fallen behind on my Black Library readings. This is my first sincere attempt to catch up since White Scars. The rising cost of new Black Library titles is also prompting me to cut back a bit.

The Epic of Gilgamesh – Another as part of my effort to factor more non-fiction reading into my lists.

Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World – A gift to me over Christmas. Really don’t know much about it.

The Lives of Tao – Same as above.

Gods and Myths of Northern Europe – I’ve been meaning to really catch up on some viking mythology so this may actually go up in the reading list if only because of its short length.

The Prose Edda of Snorri Sturlusson – My boss actually came over and discussed this one with me when he saw it on my desk. Apparently it’s important reading but somewhat boring. We’ll see.

Water for Elephants – Because I need me some Americana.

Napoleon – By Felix Markham. I really should read more biographies given how much I loved the ones I read about Genghis Khan and Lyndon B. Johnson.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Yes, I’ve never read it though I am aware it’s one of the “must reads.” I’ll get around to it sometime soon.

It – I’ve written my fair share of horror, so it may sadden you to know that I’ve read nothing of Stephen King’s work. Time to change that.

Heroes Die (The Acts of Caine) – Recommended by a co-worker.

One response to “March Reading List

  1. Pingback: July Reading List | He2etic's Hysterical Horoscope

Leave a Reply

